Week 13 ~ A Warm Winter Solstice

Week 13 Menu

12/15/2015

Basil

Various greens (whatever we could find left in the field)

Autumn Olive Jelly (Pvd, Quincy, JP)*

Raw honey (Revere)*

Goat*

*note: the jelly and goat meat are not officially part of the CSA…. instead they are gifts, my thanks for being part of my first year as a farmer.   The honey was made on my property last year by my landlord.

When you’re out in the fields and working 10- 14 hours a day, you’d think that time passes by slowly, that your daydreams as you weed turn splitting moments into full memories.  But the seasons past by faster than I could have imagined.  And here we are on our last week of the CSA, only 4 days away from the Winter Solstice, and it’s already time to start planning for next year.   Thank you for being part of this journey with me!   I will share some of my reflections in a later blog, and I hope to get your input on how the CSA program and the mission of Movement Ground Farm can improve.

I hope you enjoy your grass-fed, pasture-raised, antibiotic and hormone-free, local, home-slaughtered goat meat.  After all, 2016 is the Year of the Goat!    You should especially enjoy your meat if you were born in 1919, 1931, 1943, 1955, 1967, 1979, 1991, or 2003.  All babies born this year, and I know three of them, are goats!  As am I.

Since I’ve been around goats, I’ve learned a few interesting facts about them.  Goat meat is lean.   It actually has half the proportional amount of fat as chicken meat!   Goat meat must be slow cooked, on low heat.  The meat has a lot of collagen and connective tissue which breaks down, creating a satisfying and rich stew.   In fact, I think it is THE best meat possible for a stew.  It doesn’t break down and disintegrate like chicken or beef will, instead it stays in tact on the bone, but is easily pulled off as you eat.  Goats have a higher ratio of bone to meat than say cows, pigs, or even sheep.   But with stews and stocks, that’s a good thing!

Now I turn it over to Michael Gross who is offering a reflection of his experience this year as well as some goat recipes.

 

Reflections by Michael Gross

Michael1After three escaped emus, one pet raccoon, countless days in the sun, and even more delicious meals, here I sit, in the twilight of my seven month stay on The Farm. Just seven months before this I sat in a classroom counting my days till the final bell rang. While most of my school mates were excited to venture into the world of debt and hangovers, I was loading up my old Toyota to take up working residence at a farm in Berkley Massachusetts, far from the seaside community I grew up in down in southern Rhode Island.

 

I didn’t know much about nothing, just wanted to farm and learn, and hopefully cook and eat some meals. And boy did I. Kohei was the man for the job.  He showed me the ropes. We had a summer and fall full of hard work, successes and blunders; all part of the journey that is life. Especially a life where the land is the ultimate provider and means of livelihood. One of the many things I experienced and learned, and will carry with me, is the seasonality of all things. It was the weeks we gorged ourselves with melons and Hen of the Woods mushrooms. It was watching animals, plants, fungi grow, reproduce, die. I saw it more subtly too… In how I felt physically or mentally, in how a hoe dulled or a chicken pen dirtied toward the end of a hot August, in the fleeting moments of life all around Kohei and I. Each season, month, day, moment, brought new and old things, I can’t just lump it all together. I know all our experiences, joys and hardships went into those CSA boxes, so it makes me proud and content knowing that Movement Ground Farm will continue to provide to you folks, only getting better over the years.

MandI

 

Recipes by Michael

Winter Goat Stew
This winter stew is a great way to cook with storage veggies and enjoy the meat of our beautiful goats. Great by a fire with some bread and this week’s jam or honey. Omit the dried chiles if need be.

  • Marinate goat meat in vinegar and soy sauce for at least a couple hours, or overnight.
  • Dry roast the dried chiles in a pan on the stove, and then transfer to hot water to soften em up for a half hour or so.
  • Rub your piece of goat with salt and pepper, and spices to your liking. Put your soup pot on high and add oil to cover bottom of pan. Sear your meat for ten to twenty minutes, until it is nice and brown, not golden, not charred, but in between. This is to make it extra succulent and all the more delicious.
  • Peel garlic and combine with spices and herbs. We like to use basil, cumin, ginger, thyme, cinnamon and whatever else is at hand. Take your reconstituted chiles and combine with mixture, add a cup or two of vinegar and/or wine and put all in food processor or pound with mortar and pestle.
  • Add mixture to soup pot and add some chopped onion. Sauté for a couple minutes and then add your stock. Use meat or veggie stock, and/ or red wine, adding 1 cup for each person eating.
  • Bring to a boil, then let this simmer for around an hour and a half.
  • Add chopped potatoes, winter squash, carrots, beets, parsnips… The more the merrier. Simmer for another hour and a half, or until goat is tender enough. Shred your goat meat into bite size pieces.
    Good eating.

 

Roasted Goat Tacos
Combine a tablespoon of brown sugar and minced garlic, two bay leaves, a teaspoon of salt and pepper, some tomato, a strip of lemon peel, chile flakes and a half cup of soy sauce and vinegar mixed. Marinate your goat in it, overnight preferably.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Sear both sides of goat in a pan with oil to cover bottom until brown. Slice goat into three inch long pieces and nestle in a oven pan. Cover pan tightly with foil. Roast your goat for two to three hours, until it’s fall off the bone tender.

Let cool in its own juices and then shred the meat off the bone. Pour the liquid through a sieve and discard fat if you like to. Separate juice and skim off more fat. Pour liquid over meat and keep cool till ready to serve. Best with warm tortillas and a wedge of lime, cilantro, onion, radish etc.
enjoy.

What ever you do with your goat meat, please share pictures!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

