Fall CSA – Week # 2 – 09.30.2015

Tomatoes

Daikon

Bok choy

Scallions

Japanese eggplant

Spaghetti Squash

Farm update: the deer are after our edamame, so we substituted them with the last of our tomatoes.  I know I said last week was the last of our tomatoes, but this time I mean it even more.  The current tropical depression heading up our way from the Bahamas is sure to bring with it a host of diseases, most notably ‘late blight’ which normally wipes out tomato crops in the late summer/early fall.   Also, swarms of bugs have made their way into my fields.   Cabbage worms have almost massacred my broccoli crop, so every few days we walk through the fields and hand pick them.   Sometimes I just crush them between my fingers.  Now we’re finding beautiful Monarch caterpillars eating our carrots – but I can’t crush these.   I don’t know what to do with them!   One theory on why the bugs are so bad this year is because of the lack of rain.   All of the plants are pretty stressed out and have weak immune systems from the lack of water, so they’re pretty vulnerable to attack!   It’s funny how I am learning about my own health through plants.   When they don’t get enough water, then can get taken down by a few bugs.   When they don’t get enough Calcium, their skin starts to rot.   Guess I should make sure I’m getting my calcium and water!   As of today there are 30 CSA shares sold.   It’s pretty awesome that our Fall numbers only went down by 5 shares from the 35 we had this Summer.   Makes me feel that ‘hmmmm… maybe I WILL come up with a sustainable model next year!!!’  =)

SPAGHETTI SQUASH

This week we present to you the first of our Winter squash; this one being one of my favorites – Spaghetti Squash.  Once you bake (or microwave) it, you fork out its contents which come out like noodles!   Then, it’s up to you whether you want to just add some garlic, butter, and salt (and parmesan cheese), or go all out and make this spaghetti squash pesto with tomato or some other fancy pasta dish.  You can also refuse to believe it tastes or resembles like noodles at all, and instead use them as you would shredded potatoes and fry them up.   These spaghetti squash fritters look pretty good.

squash fritters spaghetti squah with pesto parmesan

DAIKON

Moving on now to Daikon!   Often seen shredded and served on the side of a sashimi dish, daikon is versatile and not only used in Japanese cooking.   You can eat daikon raw in a Japanese flavored vinegar salad.

 It can be pickled as in this Vietnamese daikon carrot pickle, delicious when paired with meats or spicy foods.   You can bring out its natural sweet flavor by braising in the oven.   This Traditional Braised Daikon recipe looks yum (see pic below).  My favorite way to enjoy daikon is in a soup, Miso soup in particular, but you can pretty much use them in any soup as you would potatoes or carrots. Or, screw Asian cuisine altogether and go for some low-carb Crispy daikon fries!

daikonbraisedsashimi served with shredded daikon saladfries miso pickle

 

Leave a Reply

